Seven Years Ago

Seven years ago, I had just returned from a three week trip overseas. North Africa gave me a small glimpse at life in a part of the world I had always felt drawn to. This trip was my first introduction to teaching art. At the time, I was not thinking of teaching art as a career, but this trip confirmed to me that I could do it… albeit a few more years down the line. I look back at this experience with fond memories- and an appreciation of the journey that got me to where I am now.

Here I am, a real art teacher at a school in a similar part of the world- and slugging through the chaos that is the final weeks of the year. Today, amidst a moment when my patience was trying, a student asked me if I am happy I chose this path of teaching. This question coming from a VERY difficult class that happened to be particularly unruly *again*… I did not know how to answer in the moment.

If I remember the past experiences that sparked this interest in the first place, and the students I am here to teach… then, yes.

4664_105541731072_2860172_n

 

2 thoughts on “Seven Years Ago

  1. Elise June 1, 2016 / 3:14 PM

    As an outside observer, I think you were made to do this.

    Like

  2. Jack and Mary Gay Twa June 2, 2016 / 3:00 AM

    Your grandpa and I admire your courage to go so far away from home to teach these children whose lives will have been made better because of you. You’re awesome, Nicola. We cheer and pray for you….for your well being and happiness and your continuing determination to teach what you love. God bless you, dear one. xoxo

    Like

Leave a comment