Choose Your Own Adventure: Printmaking

I look forward to teaching printmaking every year and seeing the students’ eyes light up at the magical process. I was planning to make spring landscape collographs with them like these second and third grade ones from a few years ago… instead I dove into experimental mode and made three separate video tutorials for printmaking with various alternative material options. It was time intensive, but worth it as students began sending me photos of their finished prints! If you are curious about printmaking, you can see the project here and samples of their work below.

Monoprint

Styrofoam Relief Print

This method was the popular choice! Can you spot the one inspired by a famous painting?

Collograph Print

No one chose this, despite it being the method I wanted to teach. I love the results, although coincidentally, this was the method I disliked the most in art school!

Leave a comment