Choose Your Own Adventure: Typography

I have a special place in my heart for typography; remembering back to my first design class in university, and having my eyes opened up to the intricacies of lettering. Once you start noticing typefaces and details of letterforms, you can never go back! I wanted to introduce my students to these visual components of lettering, and again I gave them three choices for exploration, you can find the project details here

Type Frottage

The first choice was to create a frottage of different words and lettering students could find on objects around the house. In making my example, I discovered there are SO many different examples of type on the items we use everyday! I love introducing my classes to the word frottage because it sounds so much more sophisticated than the crayon texture rubbings we do in kindergarten!

Created or Found Lettering

For this option, I was inspired by a favourite project of mine from university days where we took photographs of found type in the world. I have seen many other art teachers also trying this with students while they are learning at home! I had my students choose an entire word to spell out with different objects they could find around their house, though I did have one student make the whole alphabet!

Illustrated Type

This option is dedicated to all of my creative thinkers and those who love to draw! Students had to choose a word to illustrate, combining the letters of the word with the shape of the object. I found steps that broke down the task into more manageable steps, though it was still a bit tricky for the students that chose to do it.

Leave a comment