Art&Science

Today was another exciting day in kindergarten! Since we have been talking about colour and colour mixing, I thought I would try an inter-disciplinary activity to explore the colours which make up black. My Dad, the chemist, has done paper chromatography with us for as long as I can remember, and we always enjoyed it as an activity that linked science and art together. I enjoyed it so much that I explored it further as one of my senior studio projects:

chroma

First, we made pencil dots in the centre of our papers, and then created radial designs to surround the dots using black washable markers. The finished designs were then put onto cups of water with a pipe cleaner wick. The kids were SO excited to attentively watch and see how the black ‘magically’ changed colour!

Leave a comment